What does it mean when a Workspace is in Draft, Published or Archived? Follow

The images in the following article reflect the version of Workspace that was released in beta in March 2020, however the basic functionality applies to all current versions of Workspace.

In Workspace, you have a few ways to control who can access a Workspace and where it is stored. A Workspace you are currently using can be in a Draft or Published state. When you are done with a Workspace and want to clear up space on your Workspace homepage (and in your learners’ Student Dashboards) you can Archive the Workspace.

Changing the state of a Workspace affects what the teachers and students attached to the Workspace see. This article will break that down for you. 

First, here’s an overview of the different states:

State:

Visible to:

Accessible from:

Draft

Only Teachers

My Workspaces homepage, under “Owned by Me” or “Shared with Me”

Published

Teachers and Learners

For teachers:

My Workspaces homepage, under “Owned by Me,” “Shared with Me,” or “Professional Learning” 


For learners:

Student Dashboard under “Workspaces”

Archived

Teachers and Learners*

For teachers:

My Workspaces homepage, under “Archived”


For learners:

Student Dashboard under “Archived”

*This is only the case in the old Student Dashboard, if your learners use the updated Student Dashboard (currently in beta release) they do not have a place to access Archived Workspaces. Learn more here. 

Deleted

No one

Nowhere**

 

When your classes are archived at the end of the school year or semester, that affects your Workspaces differently. Learn more about what happens to Workspaces when your class is archived here

Active Workspaces: Draft vs Published

Workspaces you are currently using will either be in a Draft or Published state. 

 

Draft Workspaces

When you create a Workspace, it defaults to a “Draft” state. This means that only the teacher who created the Workspace and the co-teachers attached to the Workspace can see and interact with the Workspace board. 

A Draft Workspace will appear on the My Workspaces homepage for any teachers attached to it. The Workspace can be found under Owned by Me or Shared with Me, depending on how you were added to the Workspace. 

If you connect a class to a Draft Workspace, the Workspace can also be found organized under My Classes on the My Workspaces page. The students in that class will not be able to see the Workspace until you change the status to Published. 

Keeping a Workspace in a Draft state allows you to build the Workspace and add resources before sharing it with learners. We recommend keeping a Workspace in Draft until you are ready for learners to begin working in it. 

 

Published Workspaces

Once you are ready for learners to get started in a Workspace, switch the state from Draft to Published.

You can do this from within a Workspace by clicking the Publish button in the top right corner. 

Screen_Shot_2020-02-19_at_5.08.48_PM.png

Or, you can switch the status of the Workspace to Published from the My Workspaces homepage by clicking on the drop-down menu on the Workspace title card, and changing the status from Draft to Published.

Screen_Shot_2020-02-19_at_5.08.05_PM.png

Once it is Published, all of the students attached to the Workspace will have access to it. The Workspace will appear automatically in their Student Dashboard. 

If you are a teacher and have been added to the Workspace as a learner, you can find it under the Professional Learning section once it is Published.

Screen_Shot_2020-02-21_at_12.21.17_PM.png                 

Archived Workspaces

When you’ve finished a project or assignment, you can archive the Workspace to keep your Workspace homepage more organized. 

In a Published Workspace, you can do this by clicking on the Archive button in the top right corner.

Screen_Shot_2020-02-19_at_4.27.52_PM.png

You can also Archive a Workspace from the My Workspaces homepage by clicking on the three-dot drop-down menu and selecting “Archive”.

Screen_Shot_2020-02-19_at_4.31.57_PM.png

Archiving a Workspace moves it to the “Archive” section of your My Workspaces homepage.

Screen_Shot_2020-02-19_at_5.16.55_PM.png

If you would like to unarchive a Workspace, all you have to do is click on the “Unarchive” button in the top right hand corner of an archived Workspace.

Screen_Shot_2020-02-19_at_5.18.28_PM.png

 

How Archiving a Workspace affects students

Archiving a Workspace moves the corresponding Google Drive folder into an archive folder in the student’s Google Drive. The archived folders will default to being organized by year.

It’s important to note that no further work can be done on that Workspace after you have archived it. All cards become “view only,” and learners can no longer add or submit work.

* In previous versions of the Student Dashboard, learners could access archived Workspace boards from an Archived page. However, in the updated Student Dashboard (currently in Beta release), learners no longer have an Archived page. They will still be able to access all of their work in the archived folder, but no longer have a direct link to the archived Workspace board.

To learn more about what happens to your Workspaces when your classes are archived at the end of the school year, read this article.

 

Deleted Workspaces

You can delete a Workspace from the My Workspaces homepage by clicking on the three-dot drop-down menu on the Workspace title card and selecting Delete.

Screen_Shot_2020-02-19_at_5.33.21_PM.png

You can also delete a Workspace from the Workspace board by clicking on the three-dot drop-down menu in the top-right corner and selecting delete.

Screen_Shot_2020-02-19_at_5.32.56_PM.png

Once you delete a Workspace, you and your learners will no longer have access to it. 

 

**If you delete a Workspace by mistake, please reach out to Hapara Support.

Have more questions? Submit a request