Using Snaps to record student activity Follow

The Snaps feature lets you make a digital note of student(s) online activity for reference at a later stage. For example, you may have noticed a student activity of interest, which you want to explore or investigate further in order to better support the learning and development of your student or guide them towards more focused or appropriate behavior. 

 

Taking a Snap

To create a Snap click on the camera icon  which appears in a few places on the Activity Viewer page. This will create a digital record of a specific moment in time for one or several students (in the case of a class or collaboration activity).

This record/snapshot will remain available to you within Highlights for the next 7 days. 

The snapped digital record includes:

  • Class name
  • Date and time of the activity recorded
  • Teacher’s name
  • Timeline of all open and closed tab activity on the URL or document snapped.
  • If the student was still on the same URL/document when the snapshot was taken, the record will also include a screenshot of the student’s screen

NOTE: If the student moved away from the URL/document in question just before you took the snap, a message will notify you of the fact that the screen image could not be provided.

 

Viewing all Snaps

The Snaps tab allows you to see all snaps recorded over the past 7 days:

For each Snap this view shows:

  • when the Snap was taken
  • the URL that was being viewed by the student(s) when the Snap was taken
  • a screen image when the Snap was taken
  • whether the Snap relates to a single student (aka "Unique Activity") or relates to a group of students (aka "Collaboration")

Clicking on a specific Snap panel will open a page showing details about that Snap.

To delete a Snap, click on the trash icon in the bottom right corner of the Snap panel. Snaps are automatically deleted after 7 days.

 

Viewing one Snap

Clicking on a Snap panel in the Snaps tab, opens a page showing detail about the Snap:

 

 

This view includes:

  • when the Snap was taken
  • the URL that was being viewed by the student(s) when the Snap was taken
  • whether the Snap relates to a single student (aka "Unique Activity") or relates to a group of learners (aka "Collaboration"). If the Snap relates to several learners, each learner can be individually selected using the dropdown list (to the right of the learner name).
  • a screen image when the Snap was taken (specific to the selected student)
  • a timeline of recent browsing activity by the selected student
  • a screenshot of the student's screen when the Snap was taken

From this summary you can:

  • email the Snap to yourself to keep a permanent copy.
  • select a different student from the dropdown list
  • click on the browsing history timeline to open the site or URL listed. This will open the site or URL as it is now - it may have changed since the Snap was taken.
  • click on the screen image to view a larger version.
  • send student(s) feedback

 

Send learner(s) feedback

Clicking on the "Send Learner(s) Feedback button in the detailed Snap view allows you to start a conversation and provide guidance to the student(s):

 

You can:

  • Write you own feedback or select a pre-written feedback comment, amending it if required.
  • Decide whether you want to include the activity timeline and screenshot (when available). Each student emailed will only see their own activity timeline and current screen.
  • Select the student(s) you want to send the feedback to.
  • Preview the message and then confirm whether you want to email it. 

You will automatically receive a copy of all email(s) sent in your inbox. This email will include all the information sent to the student.

 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request