Re-enabling classic Sites Follow

In this article

The difference between classic Sites and new Sites

On November 22, 2016, Google launched a rebuilt version of Sites. The existing Sites API cannot access or modify Sites made with the new version, but can still access classic Sites. This means that Hāpara cannot create any new version Google Sites and any new version Google Sites cannot be displayed in a separate tab in Hāpara Dashboard, as there is no current API support. New Sites can be accessed from student tiles in the Sharing tab in Dashboard, alongside student Docs, Slides, etc.
Screen_Shot_2020-05-07_at_10.59.27_AM.png
 
This article explains how to disable New Sites, and enable Classic Sites to continue utilizing Hapara Dashboard to display student's Google Sites.

 

How to disable new Sites

Note: New Sites can be re-enabled after creating Classic Google sites via templateNew sites will NOT Display in a separate tab in Hāpara Dashboard however.

To turn off new Sites in your organization:
  1. Login as a Google Super Administrator account
  2. Access the Google Admin Console 
  3. Navigate to Apps > G Suite > Sites
  4. Expand New Sites
  5. Select Users cannot create and edit sites
  6. Save changes

How to enable and configure classic Sites

To enable classic Sites in your organization, configure the following at the domain level organizational unit.
  1. Login as a Google Super Administrator account
  2. Access the Google Admin Console 
  3. Navigate to Apps > G Suite > Sites
  4. Configure each Classic Sites section

Note: If you do not wish to enable classic Sites for the whole domain, these settings need to at least be enabled in all OU's wanting to use classic sites, including students, teachers and the admins.

Sharing settings - classic Sites:

  1. Expand Sharing settings - classic Sites
  2. For Site Creation, select Users at <studentdomain> can create sites
  3. Select your preferred configuration for Viewer Commenting
  4. For Site Visibility, select Users at <domainname> can find and edit sites
  5. Save changes
 
 

Access settings - classic Sites:

  1. Expand Access settings - classic Sites
  2. For Sharing options, select Users can share sites outside <domainname> (without any warning)
  3. Save changes
 
 

Template Settings - classic Sites:

  1. Expand Template settings - classic Sites
  2. For Templates, tick Enable custom templates.
  3. For Template options, select  
  4. Save changes
Have more questions? Submit a request